Nativity School has long been home to both Boy and Girl Scouts for students in Kindergarten through Eighth Grade.

Nativity Girl Scouts belong to the Northern California Branch, GSNorcal. Girl Scout troops begin as early as Kindergarten (Daisies) and move up to Girl Scout (Cadette). Our troop leaders are all volunteer parents and meetings generally happen after school, bimonthly. All of our Girl Scouts are active participants in community outreach and students learn valuable life skills that they take with them after their time at Nativity. The GS Norcal website can be found at:

Girl Scouts of Northern California

Girl Scouts of the U.S.A. is the largest voluntary organization of girls in the world. In our council, the Girl Scouts of Northern California over 47,000 girls and 32,000 adults take part in Girl Scout programs each year. We tailor our programs for the developmental, educational, emotional and social needs of girls at six levels:

  • Girl Scout Daisy (Grades K-1)
  • Girl Scout Brownie (Grades 2-3)
  • Girl Scout Junior (Grades 4-5)
  • Girl Scout Cadette (Grades 6-8)
  • Girl Scout Senior (Grades 9-10)
  • Girl Scout Ambassador (Grades 11-12)

Our Numbers

  • Girl Members: 47,000
  • Adult Members: 32,000
  • Staff: Approximately 150
  • Board Members: 25

Our Territory

Nationwide there are over 100 Girl Scout councils. Girl Scouts of Northern California serves 19 counties in Northern California: Alameda, Butte, Contra Costa, Del Norte, Glenn, Humboldt, Lake, Marin, Mendocino, Napa, Santa Clara, San Francisco, San Mateo, Shasta, Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Tehama, and Trinity Counties.

Each county is further divided into Areas, and Service Units, smaller geographic regions in which our communities participate in Girl Scouting together.

Cub Scouts

A program for boys ages 7-10.

Cub Scouts is a year-round program designed for boys ages 7 through 10. The program offers fun and challenging activities that promote character development, citizenship training, and physical fitness. Boys begin as Tiger Cubs as they finish kindergarten, and then move into the Wolf and Bear Cub Scout programs (second and third grade). Webelos Scouts (fourth and fifth grade) is the next program, preparing boys to transition into Boy Scouts.

Boy Scouts

A program for boys ages 11-17.

Boy Scouts is an outdoor program designed to develop character, citizenship, and fitness for boys ages 11 through 17. Through the advancement program and peer group leadership, Scouting helps a boy develop into a well-rounded young man. The Eagle Scout Award, the highest rank in Scouting, is recognized around the world as a mark of excellence.